Original Sewing & Quilt Expo – Atlanta March 7, 2013

band

This year, I decided not to attend classes and concentrate on buying sewing notions.  The expo had plenty of notions for quilters but very little for garment sewers.   I did find a few things.  Click on photo to enlarge the photo.

buttonhole cutter

buttonhole cutter

seam guide and buttonhole cutter

seam guide and buttonhole cutter

Vendor – A Fine Notion Texas  I’ve been wanting a buttonhole cutter for a while but I’ve always hesitated to buy one because of shipping costs.  This set contains a buttonhole cutter knife, circular cutter punch and hardwood cutting block for $7.95.  Score!  One can never have too many seam gauges.  This one is much larger than my favorite seam guide.  I’m eager to try it.

Seam Allowance Curve

Seam Allowance Curve

Vendor – Carol Steinbrecher for Conselle/Style Solutions www.stylesolutionsllc.com

I’ve seen this Seam Allowance curve on etsy.com and Shams blogged about it.  I bought the 5/8″ ruler.

microtip scissors and  finger light

microtip scissors and finger light

Vendor – Scissors Man www.famorecutlery.com I bought a second pair of micro tip scissors and a finger light. I’ll give a review of the finger light later.

steel thread spool holder

steel thread spool holder

Vendor – Marathon thread Guy www.marathonthread.com I have a plastic Dritz cone thread holder and I haven’t been happy with it. It’s very filmsy.  This thread holder is heavy and solid.

3 stretch laces for bra sewing

3 stretch laces for bra sewing

Lace vendor – Luc Smiers Fine French Laces www.cottonlace.com  The website doesn’t show a lot of the Stretch Tulle Net Lace but that’s what I bought.  This is my most exciting purchase!  I couldn’t believe I found lace similar to what I’ve seen Sigrid use on her beautiful bras.  I bought a yard each.  I’m seriously thinking of going back tomorrow to buy more. Woo-hoo!

closeup red lace

closeup red lace

closeup blue lace

closeup blue lace

Explore posts in the same categories: Atlanta, Conference, Sewing Equipment

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

