No more knitting(at least for now)

It’s way too hot to knit here in the sunny south. Yesterday, it was 102! I’ve put knitting aside at least until the weather gets cooler. Sewing is taking up my crafting time now. I bought a new sewing machine. It’s a Brother CS6000i. I really like it. My first project was this Simplicity 3750 top Summer top - Simplicity 3750

This should have been an easy project but it wasn’t. I’m not a B cup so I put it aside until I can master full bust adjustments (FBA).

Skirt Simplicity 3634

This skirt is my current project. I was simple to sew once I had another set of eyes to check the hem line. I made it first with muslin to check the fit. Tomorrow, I will cut black crepe and make the skirt for real.

I didn’t think I would like making the muslin first but after the mistake with the top, I’m a believer. Make the muslin first before cutting expensive fabric!

I’ve added or will be adding a few sewing books to my collection. The first is Fit for Real People by Pati Palmer & Marta Alto. This book explains how to alter sewing patterns (except for pants. That’s another book). I need to change my patterns so that they fit me not a model. I bought this book because of the reviews on www.patternrewiew.com like this one. This book explains in detail FBA yay! The next book is Sewing Secrets from the Fashion Industry: proven methods to help you sew like the pros. This book shows example of many techniques that I think will make my project look polished.

Well, that’s it for now.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing

Leave a Reply

