Original Sewing & Quilt Expo Atlanta Day 3

Oh my Gawd!  Guess who I ran into today!!!!

Ebby J, Lisa H. and Faye

Ebby J, Lisa H. and Faye

Faye (Faye’s Sewing Adventures) , Lisa H. (Sew On and Sew On) and Ebby J. (Just Be Yourself and Sew).  I must admit.  I was hoping to run into one of them at the Expo 🙂  I was so excited that I didn’t get a picture of the four of us all together but they did!  Be sure to check out their blogs Faye.  It was great to meet them in person 🙂 🙂 🙂

Now, for the classes I took today

Easy Zippers.  Instructor – Mickey Hudson-Sandoval.

I couldn’t get into her hands-on class so I took this one.  It was worth it.  I’d heard about the Islander Sewing System of sewing garments.  My sewing instructor from last year taught us a few of the techniques but Mickey really made me a believer.  She demonstrated inserting a centered zipper, a lapped zipper, an invisible zipper, a fly zipper and a mock fly zipper.  The techniques to insert these zippers are all used in factory sewing…without pins.  She made it look easy and encouraged everyone to put in a zipper then rip it out 10 times.  She said usually it takes anywhere from 5 to 10 times to get the techniques down cold.  All the zipper insertions looked simple EXCEPT the fly front.  I’m not ready for that yet.  I would most definitely take another class with her and I plan to…next year.  I bought the Easy Zipper DVD after class because I really want to be able to insert zippers easily.

Seven Habits of Highly Successful Sewers.  Instructor Judith Rasband.

Judith researched sewers who actually sewed clothes that they wear and were happy with the results.  From the research, she developed the 7 Habits For Successful Sewers.  I won’t list all of the habits because I’m sure they are her material and I don’t want to interfere with copyright.  The first habit really spoke to me.  The first habit is : Analyze the figure, lifestyle, and personal style.  I sometimes have trouble figuring out what looks good on me.  I’ve got hips and a stomach so I have to be careful to not wear thing that draw undo attention to those areas.  I was also interested in her pattern alteration methods.  She doesn’t do the slash method.  Instead, she makes alterations close to the seam lines.  I’d like to see her alteration methods in action.  Her methods are in her fashion design textbook Fabulous Fit.

I won’t attend this particular class again but if she were doing an alteration class, I would go to it.

On to Shopping…

Here’s what I bough:

Damage on day 3

Damage on day 3

Measuring made Easy by Lorraine Henry.  Includes a book and Two Easy Tape(TM) $16.00

Easy Zippers video and Kai N5000 Dressmaking Shears purchased from That Seam’s Fine (Mickey Hudson-Sandoval).   I’m guessing the damage was $60.oo

Yummy striped cashmere fabric from Peggy Sager.  Peggy actually cut my fabric herself.  Damage $10.00!!!!

Total $86.00 plus tax.  Total for three days $206.97 plus tax or $6.97 over my budget.  I’m not going to sweat it because I go my money’s worth with everything that I bought.

The expo was worth the money that I spend on classes and sewing supplies.  I met some really wonderful sewers and quilters.  I will be back next year March 11-13, 2010.

Now, I’m going put up my feet and rest 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Original Sewing & Quilt Expo Atlanta Day 3”

  1. sewlisa Says:

    Hi Carla.I’m so happy to have met you. We travel to Atlanta often for sew-shopping and I hope you can join us next time. I’m playing with the idea of planning a sewing retreat in Savannah in the summer.
    I went over budget too,but like you,I have no regrets.


Leave a Reply

