Sewing while on vacation

Today is a holiday and I didn’t have to go to work.  Whoo-hoo!  My plans were to sleep in and do a little sewing.  Well, I managed the sleeping in part but sewing was delayed a few hours to help my Mom.

A few hours later, I was back at the sewing machine.  I took my time sewing and it was nice.  I’m working on Simplicity 3887.  I’ve made a muslin of this top so hopefully, it will be a keeper.

I used two new items when making this top – rolled hem foot for my sewing machine and an awl.  They are now my new best friends in the sewing room.   Using the rolled hem foot takes a little practice.  I found the hemmer foot video from Bernina and the instructions from David Page Coffin’s book titled Shirtmaking: developing skills for fine sewing extremely helpful.  The hem of my sleeves look great.  I don’t own the Bernina hemmer foot.

I will finish the top tomorrow and take pictures.

Ciao

Explore posts in the same categories: Tops/Blouses

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

