A skirt that fits – McCall’s 3830

McCall’s 3830 View C.  I finally have a skirt that fits.  Using the Burda Word of Fashion alteration techniques, I altered the skirt front and back.   I will post pictures tomorrow.  I finished the skirt yesterday but was too tired to take a picture.  I didn’t have the energy to fix my hair, find a shirt, put on panty hose, shoes and make up!

I like the pattern and I’m sure I will make it again but I don’t think this will be my tired and true skirt pattern.  I’ve already make notes of the changes I want to make to the construction of the skirt.  One change for sure is the slit in the back.  For view C, the slit is so small that I think it can be eliminated all together.    I added a lining but I want to sew the lining to the facing instead of doing a full lining.  I will definitely use the invisible zipper again instead of the lapped zipper. 

I bought Simplicity 5914  when JoAnn’s had Simplicity patterns on sale for $0.99 each.  That pattern is going to be next on my list of skirts to make. 

I used my blind hem foot of my Bernina for the first time and it won’t be the last.

I’m going to take the skirt to the cleaners and have it pressed.  Now, I’ve got to think about my wardrobe.  I don’t have a lot of items that I can wear with the skirt.  In fact, my wardrobe is rather limited.  That’s  gotta change.

Take care and see ya tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Finished Sewing Projects, Sewing, Skirts

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

