Simplicity 2598 View E Knit Top

Simplicity 2598 Knit Top

Pattern Description: Women’s Knit top and Cardi-Wrap with Front Variations.  This is the plus size version of Simplicity 2603

Pattern Sizing: 18W to 32 W

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Sort of.  I follow Ann’s blog (Gorgeous Fabrics).  She blogged about the instructions to attach the collar band and I like her instructions.  They made more sense to me.  You can find her tutorial here.

Here’s a closeup of my collar band.

I also follow Pam’s blog (Off The Cuff ~Sewing Style~).  She blogged about hemming knits.  You can find her tutorial here – scroll down to 01/01/2009 entry Perfect Hems Every Time!  Using Pam’s tutorial enabled me to hem the top with getting the tunneling that I usually get when I sew knit fabric.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The pattern is simple and using Ann’s and Pam’s tutorials made it a breeze.

Fabric Used: Poly/Rayon Knit from Gail K’s in Atlanta

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Other than using the tutorials mentioned above, I still had to do a FBA.  I think I need to more adjusting on the FBA.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes.  I like the wide shoulders which cover bra straps.

Conclusion: A great pattern and good wardrobe builder for the spring and summer.

Explore posts in the same categories: patterns, Tops/Blouses

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Simplicity 2598 View E Knit Top”


  1. […] gathered all of my knit scraps to practice.   I know I want to re-hem Simplicity 2598.  I have a good deal of knit material so I think I will be doing more sewing.     Hey, […]


Leave a Reply

