Not right…

I made a muslin of Butterick 5047 camp shirt using striped fabric.  The goal was to figure out how to match stripes and find an easy shirt pattern.   I think I did figure out stripes.

I had to cut out one sleeve and front – twice.    That’s okay because I had more than enough fabric.

What isn’t right is the fit.

1.  I’m going to have to do a FBA.  That means adding a bust dart.  The pattern already has fisheye darts and I don’t know how to rotate the bust dart.

2. My biceps are big.  I’m going to have to add more fabric.  This is kinda of depressing because this means I’ve gained weight 😦  I don’t know how to alter sleeves.

I’m debating…should I put this pattern aside and go back to the Vogue 7903 pattern I was working on last year.  With the Vogue 7903, I have the fit in the bust figured out.  It was the sleeves that was kicking my rear.

The Butterick pattern is simple to make.  It helped that I had Connie Crawford’s book Guide to Fashion Sewing (3rd edition).  The pattern instructions on attaching the collar made no sense to me.  The book has great drawings.  I also had Ms. Crawford’s DVD Studio Sewing Skills Volume 4 which features the 5047 pattern.  Do I want to mess with the fit?

Decisions, decisions.

Explore posts in the same categories: muslin, Tops/Blouses

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

