Wadder – Butterick 5047 Camp Shirt & Great thread tracing video

Wadder

I did a FBA on Butterick 5047 camp shirt and all I can say is ugh.  The bottom became really flared and the shirt made me look quite matronly.  That’s NOT the look I’m going for just yet.

All isn’t lost though, I did learn to match stripes with this pattern.  I also raised the armscye with this pattern.  I think I’m going to do that with Vogue 7903.

I’m still need to learn how to fit sleeves.    I”m going to work on Vogue 7903.  I’ve already made the following changes to the pattern:

an FBA

shortened shoulder seam

add length to shirt

I hope to figure  this sleeve thing out soon.  I found the article “20 ways to Improve Your Sewing” from the Threads website.  I’m going to try Number 13.   I probably need to print the article and hang it up in my sewing room 🙂

Thread Tracing Video

I’ve heard of thread tracing and even seen examples of thread tracing from blogger like Tany and Ann.  I had no clue how to do it.  I found this video from Otis College and it really helped.  Thread tracing is the last of the three types of hand stitching shown.

I’m really glad their on YouTube.  I would love to take a class there.

I think I will still have to use tracing paper or chalk to mark the lines and dots when doing thread tracing…especially for muslins.

Question?

So do any of you do thread tracing and do you still have to tracing pattern markings with chalk or tracing paper?

Explore posts in the same categories: Future sewing projects, Online Crafting Videos, Tops/Blouses, Wadder

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

