Tissue Fitting

I’ve had the book Fit for Real People by Pati Palmer & Marta Alto for at least two years.  I’ve used a few of the pattern alteration techniques in the book but I’ve never tried to tissue fit.  Tissue fitting just didn’t appeal to me until last week.

I’ve been having problems with my sleeves …or so I thought.  I raised the armscye (armhole) on the pattern make yet another muslin that didn’t fix the problem.  This was my 3rd or 4th muslin mind you.  Then, I decided to try tissue fitting.  I read pages 29, 30, 76-81.  I also watched Marcy Tilton’s Tissue Fit youtube videos and Gertie’s Tissue Fitting YouTube videos.  I tried on my altered pattern and realized that the pattern didn’t reach my center back.  Hmmmm.  Now, I have narrow shoulders and apparently a wide back who knew?  I did not use the alteration technique in Fit for Real People because I would have had to add more length at the shoulders where I don’t need it.  So, I added the width to back at the neckline and created a center back seam.  I don’t know if this will work because I’ve added length to the neck.  I also looked in my Vogue Sewing book for back alterations.  They show a shoulder dart.  I’ve never seen one on my ready to wear blouses.  Adding a shoulder dart might be the way to go. 

Okay so even with the added width, I’m still having trouble with the right sleeve.  It’s a miracle that I didn’t rip that muslin off and set it on fire last night.  I’m so freakin’ frustrated!!!!

Explore posts in the same categories: muslin, Tops/Blouses

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Tissue Fitting”

  1. annelo1 Says:

    I would say it is wrong to add to the center back unless you make a pleat so that the neck line is the same as before. One of the key goals in using FFRP is to avoid that the neck gets too wide. If you add to the CB seam you kind of go up a pattern size and you don’t want that. If you widen the CB seam without making a pleat or gathers, you will shift the shoulders a bit out and you will end up with too wide shoulders anyway. Try following their suggestions – like slashing it vertically in the mid shoulder and creating a shoulder dart or gathers.

  2. causeiwanna Says:

    Anne,
    You’re right. I plan to add a pleat. I’m just about ready to give up on this pattern. I’ve been reading about other sewers having problems with this pattern. I’m beginning to think this pattern isn’t for me 😦


Leave a Reply

