Muslin Fitting with Pam Howard

I’ll apologize up front.  I didn’t take pictures.  Yeah, yeah.  I know.  I forgot.  On  Friday and Saturday, I had a one on one muslin fitting with Pam Howard of Pamela’s Closet, Inc.  I learned so much in those two days.  Pam is wonderful and extremely talented.

My project was McCall’s M5145 view B.   I’ve made 2 or 3 muslins of this pattern in the past but I could never get the sleeves to work for me.  I have big biceps now so the sleeves were tight and I couldn’t fold my arms.   Pam made adjustments to the pattern.  For example, forward shoulder adjustment and adding a center back seam for shaping.  The biggest change was the sleeve cap.  What a difference!  I’m beginning to understand this blog post from Fashion Incubator on sleeve ease now. The European pattern draft is looking more and more attractive to me.   I will have to try Ottobre or Knip Mode. And actually use my Burda Plus subscription 🙂

I’ve taken apart the muslin and I’m making a paper pattern based on the changes.  I’ll be sewing a new muslin this week.  I’ll take pictures.

Take care

Explore posts in the same categories: muslin

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

