First Pair of Pants and Happy Holidays Everyone.

No.  I did not fall off the face of the earth 🙂  November was supper busy for me and I still managed to do some sewing.  I mostly tried to tweak the bra pattern but I put it aside for now.  I know I will try again in January. 

This A few weekends ago I made my first pair of pants.  I don’t know why I was so afraid to sew them.  Hmmm… yeah, I do!  I didn’t want to try to fit pants.  I just knew it was gonna be a pain in my butt (pun intended). 

I’m using Simplicity 2562 view B.  These suckers have got to be the biggest bell bottom pants I’ve ever seen.  They are huge!  The construction wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be and I only have one a couple of real fitting issues.   I need to add more length in the crotch front.  I’ve decided not to alter the pattern now because I think this style isn’t flattering on my body.  The waistband hits at the widest point of my stomach.  Let me just say that is not attractive.  (ETA: I’ve been told that the waistband is fine so I have altered this pattern).

I’m going to try another Simplicity pattern.  Simplicity 2566 view E.  That’s about as simple as you can get with elastic in the waist.  I’ve since made Simplicity 2566 view E.   I had to make a few changes.

  1. Remove the darts in the front due to stomach.
  2. Add a large number of inches to the back crotch due to big rear end and I still need to add another inch. 
  3. Make tilted waist alteration.
  4. Add more length for my long legs.
  5. Let out 1/4″ on the hips.

Overall, I like the pants patterns. It’s pretty simple and straight forward. It’s also almost the identical style to a pair of silk Jones of New York pants that were one of my favorite pair until someone used a really hot iron on them 😦

I will do one more muslin with the changes listed above before I use fashion fabric. I hope this pattern will become a TNT (tried and true) pants pattern for me.   I also hope Simplicity 2562 will also become a TNT.  I really like the fly front and it’s very similar to my favorite pair of RTW.

I’ve been following K-line’s progress with her pants.  I’m so glad I’m not the only one who is trying to figure out how to make pants that fit 🙂 

Sorry there are not pictures with this post.  I hope to have something to show you soon.

I have everyone has a wonderful Holiday Season 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: muslin, Pants, Sewing

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “First Pair of Pants and Happy Holidays Everyone.”

  1. kristinm100 Says:

    I love 2562 – I’ve never seen it before! And I’m glad to know there are many of us out there trying to make perfect pants. It’s quite eye-opening!


Leave a Reply

