Trouser Sewalong

I’ve decided to join The Cupcake Goddess: Trouser Sewalog.

Trouser Sewalong

The Cupcake Goddess

The sewalong started on January 3, 2011.  The timeline is:

  • January 3 – 8 ~ cutting and constructing your muslin
  • January 9 -15 ~ muslin fitting and pattern adjustments
  • January 16 – 22 ~ preparing and cutting your fabric, lining and interling
  • January 23 – 31 ~ trouser construction

I’m not using the Burda pattern because I don’t have it and I have many pants patterns to chose from in my sewing room.  In December, I made a  muslin of two Simplicity patterns.  I wasn’t happy with either of them so I selected another Simplicity pattern that I think will work for me.  It’s Simplicity 2700.

Simplicity 2700 Bootleg pants

It’s been reviewed 23 times on Pattern Review and it’s very similar to Simplicity 2562 which I tried to make in December.  In fact, some of the pattern pieces are the same.  I believe the bootcut leg of Simplicity 2700 will fit me better than the wide leg 2562.  I can also learn from the mistakes I made with 2562 like assuming all the seam allowances were 1 inch.  I’ve decided to make the pants without pockets this time.  I really want to concentrate on fit not style.  Speaking of fit, I will try to use some of the tips I learned from Peggy Segar’s video chat on Pant Fitting.

So tonight around 10:30, I began tracing my pattern pieces.  Yes, I trace the big four patterns.  I altered the front by basically combined the front with the  front yoke.

Combined patterns pieces for front

Doing this, I was able to eliminate the pockets.   Here’s a tip:  I use Scotch 3/4 inch Removable Tape to tape the two pattern pieces together.  This tape stays in my sewing room.  I use it when I have to alter pattern pieces because it holds when needed and can be moved without tearing my pattern paper.

I’ve got all the pieces traced (yay).  I will cut the muslin and do a little sewing tomorrow.

That’s enough about pants, on to bra sewing news.  I received modified pattern of the Danglez DB3 bra from the owner :).  I will probably put off making a bra until after the trouser sewalong.  That will give me time to order more bramaking materials :).  I want to order Duoplex FJ-6 from Bra-makers Supply.  They use it in their bra kits.  Has anyone tried it?  Please let me know what you think of using it verses tricot with lining.

That’s all that going on with me wish me luck with my pants muslin.

Explore posts in the same categories: muslin, Pants, Sewing

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

