Trouser Sewalong – Butterick B5257 Muslin 2

The second muslin fit much better than the first.   Let’s start with the front.

B5257 Front with modifcation

B5257 Front with modifcation

B5257 Pants Front w/mods

The top picture shows the fit best.   As you can see there is a lot of room above my natural waistline.  I used the belt and  marked my waistline on the muslin with a chalk wheel.  Removing 5/8″ from the front cr*tch worked and the pants sits where I want it in the front.

The side view

B5257 Side View - the tilted waist

This photo shows how my waist slants/tilts down in the front.  I’m glad I learned this when I was trying to fit skirts.

The Back

B5257 Back with modifications

I added 3/4″ to the back cr*tch and that worked well.  I will let out the back inseam 1/4″ at the inner thigh.   I’m also going to clip the curve at the back cr*tch.   I might also have to scoop out another 1/4″ to prevent the wedgie.  It also looks like I need to make the darts more shallow in the back.  It doesn’t feel tight but it looks tight to me in the picture.

I think that’s it.  I like this pattern looks better on me.  I haven’t given up on Simplicity 2700 at all.  I like the contour waist look for casual pants and I will go back to it after I make B5257.

If you have any suggestions for pants fitting, please let me know.  I could use some help 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: muslin, Pants/Trousers

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Trouser Sewalong – Butterick B5257 Muslin 2”

  1. Heather Says:

    The fit looks very good to me! I don’t have any advice since I’m not very schooled on making trousers. I think we are pretty much body doubles, though!

  2. causeiwanna Says:

    Thanks Heather. Body doubles, really? I thought I was the only one with this fitting issues 🙂


Leave a Reply

