Weekend Round-up

This weekend I finished making Butterick 5257 View D pants.  I really should have paid more attention to the wrinkles in the back.  The front of the pants were perfect.   The back not so much.  I didn’t think to take pictures when I wore them to the ASG meeting.  I got some really great feedback from more experienced sewers.  I did try a new technique to me – thread tracing.  I’m trying to add one couture method/skill per sewing project.

Thread tracing isn’t hard at all especially when you have the right needle and basting thread.  I used Japanese needles that Susan Khalje sells and finecotton basting thread – from Japan.  I bought mine from Pam Howard but you can also buy it here.  I’m going to take a break from pants  for now.

On Sunday, I sewed an apron Butterick B4945 View E apron.

This was on my list of projects to complete during the Christmas break however I got a raging sinus infection during Christmas.  Let me tell you THAT was no fun.  Anyway, the pattern size stopped at 18 and I’m larger than that so I added a few inches to the waist.  The instructions call for slip stitching the waistband.  What is that all about?  It’s an apron.  I edge stitched the waistband and called it a day.  The apron turned out great and was a boost to my confidence after a not so successful attempt at sewing pants.

I hope everyone had a great weekend.  It was beautiful here in the ATL this weekend.

Explore posts in the same categories: Pants/Trousers, Sewing

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

