Brother 2340CV Cover Stitch Machine

I finally got a chance to play with the new member of the sewing family.  (click on the photos for a larger image)

She arrived yesterday from Ken’s Sewing & Vacuum Center in great shape despite the tornadoes in Alabama and Georgia.   You know, it’s kinda hard to deliver a package when areas of the state has been devastated.   This machine is a customer return which cost $319 and is still under warrenty!  Whoo-hoo!

I unpacked the box and began re-threading the machine from scratch.  For me, that’s the best way to learn how to thread a machine.  I did the same thing when I bought my serger and I have no problem threading it.   In no time, I had the machine re-threaded.  The machine came with a sample of the tri-cover stitch(three needles/four threads cover stitch).  I removed it and tried to sew and….nothing!  No stitching at all.  I checked the needle threading on all three needles and everything was okay then I checked the looper  threading and found the problem.  I forgot to lock the looper in place.  That was an easy fix 🙂  I was up and running in no time.

In the photo above, on the right was the sample stitching that came with the machine.  On the left, is my first stitching sample.  Sweet!

Here’s the back.  On the LEFT was the sample stitching that came with the machine.  On the RIGHT, is my first stitching sample.

Up next, removing the fabric.  Now, I’d researched this machine before I decided to buy it.  I test drove the Janome 1000CPX and this machine.  I’d read the reviews of both machines on Pattern Review.  Some people really hate the Brother 2340CV machine because doesn’t automatically release the thread tension when you lift the presser foot.  I had my doubts about the machine when I went to a local sewing machine dealer on a Saturday and couldn’t get the machine to work for me and the sales person was so busy with industrial machine customers that he couldn’t spend time to help me.  If the Janome and Brother machines were the same price, I would have purchased the Janome but the $300 difference in price had me doing a little more thinking.  I studied the tutorials from Sew-4-Fun and decided I could figure this out.

See the paper to the right of the machine?

 

 

 

  

These instructions will be a permanent part of my sewing library.  It was so freaking easy to remove the fabric.  I’m so happy!   I’m also very tired.  So tired that I didn’t get a chance to play with this.

Oh well,  at least I have it. 

I’ve gathered all of my knit scraps to practice.   I know I want to re-hem Simplicity 2598.  I have a good deal of knit material so I think I will be doing more sewing.     Hey, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it 🙂

I can now check off one more item on my sewing wish list  with this purchase.

To all the mothers (biological, adoptive, of the heart) of the world, have a Happy Mother’s Day on Sunday.

Explore posts in the same categories: Sewing Equipment, Sewing Wish List

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Brother 2340CV Cover Stitch Machine”

  1. Joyce Chong Says:

    I too did my research and found the instructions on Sew for Fun. I just got my Brother 2340cv and went to the bookmarked link. Oh my God!, she has discontinued her blog and all the tutorials are gone. Is there any way for you to share your notes from Belinda’s old blog? If there is any way for you to help me out, I would very much appreciate it.

  2. causeiwanna Says:

    Hi Joyce,

    I will check with Belinda at Sew-4-Fun. I have printed copies of her work and I don’t want to give them out without her permission. If all else fails I guess I could try to make my own tutorial.

  3. Joyce Chong Says:

    I would so appreciate if you are able to do either option. Also, post all of your projects done on the Brother 2340cv. There is nothing like looking at some great projects that others have completed on their machine to inspire a person. Thanks again. Looking forward to Belinda’s tutorials and/or your tutorials!

  4. Joyce Chong Says:

    Were you able to contact Belinda at Sew 4 Fun? I still think that her blog was the best one available for users of the Brother 2340 cv. She provided such helpful information for users of this machine. I have tried Googling for more information on using this cover stitch machine but haven’t had much luck. I hope you will be able to help me out. Joyce

  5. causeiwanna Says:

    I wasn’t able to contact Belinda. I will try my best to create tutorials for the coverstitch machine. I hope to get a videorecorder for Christmas. Take care.


  6. I hope you are able to make a tutorial for this machine. I have it and love it but not sure i am doing some things correct when i remove the fabric.

  7. causeiwanna Says:

    Linda, I haven’t had the time or energy to make a tutorial yet. Hopefully, I’ll get one done soon.


  8. I just bought one too and am lamenting the fact that the sew4fun tutorials have disappeared! From my first try today, this is how I removed the fabric. Well, the first one was a very lightweight knit and got caught in the feed dogs and ripped to shreds. 😦 Not fun! Anyway, I set all the tensions to 0, opened the cover and moved the lower looper over and pulled toward the back to get the fabric out and away from the machine. Is that what you do to remove the fabric?

  9. causeiwanna Says:

    Sgiafricanadventures,
    I’m so sorry! I haven’t had fabric caught in the feed dogs of my coverstitch machine but I have had fabric caught in my sewing machine and it’s very frustrating. I haven’t had a chance to do a video tutorial for the coverstitch machine but I did put together I quick tutorial for removing fabric. I will post it today.


  10. Thank you so much for your help. I had another thing happen today. My sleeve hem came out completely in the wash. Only one sleeve. But I do believe that I’m just getting used to the machine. I need lots of practice. More-so because there aren’t any tutorials available on the net. How unusual! I think there is a tutorial for everything under the sun! Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

