Butterick 5147 View B

So, I have been sewing a little.  I’m been making about a dozen muslins for B5147 View B.  I thought I understood how to do a FBA but obviously I didn’t.  This is as close as I’ve gotten.   Please forgive the way I look today.  It is hot in Atlanta and it’s only May.

Please click on photos to view a larger images.

This is the best fitting muslin so far but I have questions.

The muslin is thin and that might be the reason for some of the wrinkles.

  • Looking at the front view, I’m thinking I need to let out the side seams at the waist for more room.  It’s not tight at the stomach but I look like I’m pregnant.
  • I don’t know what to do about the sagging fabric at my upper chest.   Does anyone have suggestion to correct it?
  • Are there wrinkles pointing to my bust?  Do I need to do a bigger FBA?

Okay, let’s have a look at the sides.

I think the sides look okay but if they don’t speak up please.

Here’s the back.  I made a bunch of modifications to the back including:  swayback adjustment and adding to the side seam to cover my rear.

I need to add to the side seam in the back right?

I’m going through this exercise of getting the top fitted correctly because I really want to make view D which is an swing type dress for the summer.  The top and dress use the same pattern pieces.   I need your opinions.

I’m looking forward to the 3 day weekend.  I plan to work on this top and a knit top.  I really love my coverstitch machine…but more on that later.

Happy sewing y’all

Explore posts in the same categories: muslin, Tops/Blouses

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

