More Fabric

I made a trip to Gail K’s today to buy light weight linen…that’s all.  Nothing else!  I didn’t find the right color for me in light weight linen but I did find these:

(Click on fabric photo to enlarge image)

Green cotton, gaze/eyelet – 2 1/4 yards 60″ wide for McCall’s M5855 View A

(Click on fabric photo to enlarge image)

Aqua cotton gauze with tan embroidery 2 1/2 yards 45″ wide for Simplicity 3887  View E without the elastic at hip.

I think these two tops will be a great addition to my summer “knock about” wardrobe.  I haven’t been sewing lately.  It has been hot, I say hot in Atlanta.  Too hot to sew!  I hope to do some sewing this weekend and to play with my new to me Nikon D80 DSLR camera.  I’ve wanted to get a digital SLR for a while.  Many years ago, I was really into photography.  I’m talking film and slides people.  I really didn’t want to buy new camera equipment so I didn’t.  Now, I can say that my sewing hobby has caused a renewed interest in photography.  I decided I wanted a camera that would be compatitble with my old lens.  My choices were to spend over a thousand on the new Nikon D7000 or get an older D80 for a few hundred.  I chose the D80 because there’s too much fabric I want 🙂

I’m still on the hunt for fabric for Butterick B5147 view B.  I wish I knew more about fabrics.  I’m tempted to buy one or more of All about … books.  I just might ask for one for my birthday.

Have a great weekend y’all and keep cool.

Explore posts in the same categories: Future sewing projects

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “More Fabric”

  1. sheilazthreadz Says:

    Lovely fabrics and congrats on your new camera. For B5147 you can use cotton, silk, polyester or poly-blend, cotton-blend, just to name a few. I have even used knit for it.


Leave a Reply

