Pants…again

Last year, I participated in a Trouser Sewalong hosted by http://www.afashionablestitch.com/.

Trouser Sewalong

The Cupcake Goddess

I didn’t succeed in sewing a pair of pants that fit me.  Simplicity 2700 is the pattern I used.

Simplicity 2700 Bootleg pants

Last year, I did sew a whole bunch of muslins.   Fortunately, I kept them.  Over the last few months, I’ve lost weight and none of the muslins fit.  So, this weekend I made a new muslin using all the knowledge that I’d gained from last year.   I’ll post pictures later in the week.

The good

  • added 2 inches, yes, 2 inches to the pants back at the crotch line and woo-hoo!  No more wrinkles at the inner thigh!  Success!
  • added 1 inch to center back and tapered to zero at the side seam for additional crotch depth.
  • add 1 inch in length.  I’ve got long legs.

The not so good

  • didn’t take into consideration my tilted waistline so the front waistband is a little too high
  • need to deepen the crotch curve for my low rear end.  See page 35 of Pants for Real People
  • zipper stop needs to be 1/4 inch below the large dot in the front.
  • I still have a tummy so I need more room in the front.  According to Pants for Real People, I can  straighten the front curve for a full tummy. There are no front darts on this pattern.  See page 35 of Pants for Real People again.

I think I will get a good fitting muslin by making the changes on the not so good list.  I plan to make another muslin with the changes this weekend.

It’s amazing how much I’ve learned since last year.  I really believe I’ll have a well fitting pair of pants soon.

Explore posts in the same categories: muslin, Pants

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Pants…again”


  1. Hiya – just found your blog via K-Line’s place and I will have to have a gander back soon. Impressive muslining BTW – and what a good idea (in hind sight too) to keep them from your trou making last year. I am going to make trou this year, if it kills me, so will watch with interest if you do post more about this process.


Leave a Reply

