Removing fabric from the Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine

A couple of people have ask about the Brother 2340CV cover stitch machine and Sew-4-Fun’s tutorials.  I can’t copy her work and place it on my blog but I can do my own tutorials based on her instructions.

So here’s my first.  Click on pictures to enlarge them.

What you’ll need:  Allen wrench that come with the machine and a pair of scissors.

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. allen wrench and scissors

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. allen wrench and scissors

1.  By hand, turn the hand wheel FORWARD (towards you) until the needle is in the highest position.  Do NOT turn the hand wheel backwards!  This method works only if you turn the hand wheel FORWARD.

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. turn handwheel forward TOWARD YOU

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. turn handwheel forward TOWARD YOU

2.  Place your fingernail behind one of the needle threads above the presser foot.

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine.  fingernail behind thread

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. fingernail behind thread

3.  With your other hand push the tension lever for the same needle thread and pull the thread forward for several inches.

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. first needle tension lever

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. first needle tension lever

4. Repeat step 3 for the other needle threads.

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. both threads pulled forward

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. both threads pulled forward

5.  Lift the presser foot.  Using the Allen wrench (Allen Key) that came with the machine, swipe the Allen wrench under the presser foot, from the BACK TO THE FRONT.  This pulls the needle threads underneath the presser foot.

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. allen wrench under presser foot

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. allen wrench under presser foot

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. allen wrench pulling needle threads underneath presser foot

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. allen wrench pulling needle threads underneath presser foot

6. Cut the needle threads near the Allen wrench (Allen Key).  This isn’t how I cut the thread put you get the point 🙂

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. cutting threads near allen wrench

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. cutting threads near allen wrench

7. With one hand pull the fabric BACKWARDS, out from underneath the presser foot, WHILE pushing the tension lever for the looper with your other hand.  The needle threads will automatically pull to the wrong side.

pulling fabric backwards

looper thread still attached

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. looper tension lever

Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine. looper tension lever

8. Cut your looper thread and tie off your threads.  Your machine is now ready to start stitching again.

cut looper thread

two needle threads and looper thread

I hope this helps.

Here’s a pdf of this post.  I would print it out for my library.  You never know when blog posts disappear 🙂  Brother 2340 CV Cover stitch machine – Removing Fabric

Explore posts in the same categories: Brother 2340CV, tutorial

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Removing fabric from the Brother 2340 CV cover stitch machine”


  1. Thank you! This is the ONLY thing I hate about this machine, Several times I have considered selling it and buying an automatic machine. I will try your method 🙂

  2. causeiwanna Says:

    You’re welcome. It’s not my method. I give all the credit to Sew-4-fun.


  3. Thank you for taking the time to put this tutorial on here! So I have a quick question. I’m still having problems with light-weight fabric jamming in the feed dog area. Ugh! But I guess my main question after looking at your tutorial is if I’m removing it in a way that isn’t good for my machine. This is what I’ve been doing – not having a tutorial to learn from. I set all my tensions to 0, move the looper lever to the threading position and pull. Then I re-set everything. It’s pretty fast. Can you see a reason not to do it that way? Is it better to do it the way you suggest? Thanks for your help!

  4. causeiwanna Says:

    sgiafricanadventures
    I’m not sure if your way of removing fabric harms the machine BUT it is very different from what the manufacture suggested method of removing fabric from the machine (See page 15 of the operation manual). I’ve used thin material in my machine without it jamming. I would suggest changing the differential feed (see page 5 of the operation manual). The manufacturer suggests at feed ratio range of 0.7 to 1.0 to prevent thin material from puckering. I hope this helps.


  5. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your suggestions. I will research both pages. I also haven’t had much time to play with it. I hope to have that luxury soon. It’s a breeze to thread and although the entire machine is a little scary at this point (and will be until I get the hang of it), I’m very excited to have it! I didn’t think about the differential feed being the possible problem with the thinner fabric. I hope to have time to test it out again soon. Thank you again for all your help!

  6. maginternet32294 Says:

    thanks so much for this tutorial. I got my Brother cover stitch after sew4fun shut down her blog and can’t find them anywhere. I do hope you continue to post tutorials for the 2340CV. I really appreciate them.


  7. Thank you! I used to read Belinda’s blog but didn’t have a cover stitch before so I am grateful for any tutes you have!

  8. Michelle Bartels Says:

    Thank you so much for all the information you have shared. I just bought a Brother Pacesetter Cover Stitch this morning from Ken’s Sewing Center on ebay, with all the accessories. I was inspired by your posts, and will continue to follow your blog. Thank you again, so much for posting how to remove fabric. God bless and have a great weekend! Michelle

  9. Michelle Bartels Says:

    Just wanted to say thank you again for your tutorial. It took me awhile to ‘get it’ from my head to the process, but it does work! I DID get brave and I sewed ‘off’ my fabric piece. I was afraid, because I read somewhere where you could NOT do that, but I did. All is well. I just have a nice little ‘chainstitch’ at the end.

  10. Michelle Bartels Says:

    ps. My blog is http://www.lifewithlou.blogspot.com

  11. Marian Park Says:

    Thank you SO MUCH for this. I know that you say this wasn’t originally your idea, but Sew-4-Fun’s tutorial is currently missing pictures and I could not figure it out until I found your instructions here! I just had to leave a note to tell you how much I appreciated it!


  12. I figured out a way to do this that is really super easy. Step1: finish with needles all the way down. Step2: before lifting presser foot, rotate the handwheel in REVERSE until the needles are in their highest position, Step3: lift presser foot. Step4: use 4 fingers of right hand to move the 4 tension release buttons slightly to the right. Step5: grab your fabric and pull it back and to the left of the presser foot (threads release as they should). Give it a try. I have practiced this now half a dozen times and as long as I follow these steps exactly it works like a charm.


Leave a Reply

