Frustration!

I took a break from the trouser sewalong this weekend to do a little bra sewing.

 

Things didn’t go well.  The bra didn’t fit…AGAIN.  I’m so frustrated!!  Is it the underwire?  Is it the pattern?  Sigh.  I feel there’s a secret to it that I don’t know.  I’ve got to order more bra making supplies so I’m going to put bra making aside and continue with my trousers.

 

Photo Credit:  xkcd:  A webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language.

Explore posts in the same categories: bra, Sewing Goals

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Frustration!”

  1. CGCouture Says:

    Would you like some help? It would be easier to know what’s happening if you had some pictures and/or descriptions of what isn’t working. What are your fit issues? Or is it not going together properly? Also, if they don’t fit perfectly (and you didn’t prewash), you might try that to snug up areas that are a smidge loose–it worked for me.

  2. kristinm100 Says:

    Oh, I feel your pain. That’s why I’m still avoiding the next bra… There are so many variables. Really, take the long view. And, IMO, the best wires are from Danglez in NL.

  3. causeiwanna Says:

    Thank you CGCouture! I’ve calmed down since my post. I’ve got just two issues really. 1. The center front doesn’t lie flat against my chest. I’m going to try the two modifications to the bra bridge as suggested by Dini at Danglez. Because of this issue, I keep wondering if part of the problem is the underwire I’m using. I’m going to order more of them before I make the next one. 2. I’m not getting the support I want, there’s a sagging issue. I wonder if I have to add powernet to the lower cup or is there an interfacing that will add the support.

    Thanks for offering to help. I think I’m going to think about it, place a big order for supplies and dive in again in a few weeks 🙂

  4. causeiwanna Says:

    Thanks for the tip:) I will order some. Have you ordered other supplies from them and if so what do you like? You’ve used Duplex from Bramaker’s Supply right? What do you think of it? You can email me at b.causeiwanna (at) gmail (dot) com

  5. CGCouture Says:

    If I remember correctly from my class, if the CF isn’t laying flat it’s because you need to narrow up the bridge. When it’s too wide it causes the underwire to sit partially on your boob which keeps it from laying flat. What kind of interfacing are you using for that? I was taught to use a non-stretch interfacing to prevent stretching. Narrow the bridge up, apply some woven interfacing, and you should be halfway there. As for support, try using two layers of tricot going in opposite directions on all the cup pieces. From looking at my QBE pattern, it appears that on the lower cup the lining tricot should stretch from left to right and the outside of the lower cup should stretch from top to bottom. I would use the same setup to do the upper cup if you want to stabilize it more.


Leave a Reply

