It’s the little things

So last night, I really needed to put the fabric down 🙂  I was too tired to think straight and the  lower looper thread on my serger kept breaking.  I must have re-threaded my serger 3 times and adjusted the tension who knows how many times before it dawned on me to step.away.from. the.machine.

Today when I got home, it took all of two minutes to figure out the problem.

When the lower looper thread breaks

You see that arrow?  It’s pointing to a very important piece of information.  “Turn handwheel toward you to chain off three or four stitches.”  That sentence is the difference between my serger working like a charm or crap.  I prefer working like a charm 🙂  I only have to remember this sentence when I need to re-thread the serger.  I’m writing about this because I have a feeling I might run into this again.  This way, I have a visual reference.  As you can see, I also highlighted and tabbed that page in the serger manual.

 

Back to the muslin of McCall’s M6078 – I serged the side seams and the top fits.  Woohoo!  The fabric is too thick for the cowl style but I’m going to finish it.  I want to practice hemming on my cover stitch machine.  No pictures because it’s rainy and dark.

Have a great evening.

Explore posts in the same categories: Janome 7034D serger, muslin, Tops/Blouses

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

